top of page
  • Writer's pictureTooba

It's a matter of politics

Updated: Dec 12, 2017


It may be a matter of politics. It may be a matter of religion. However, it is certainly matter of food. Earlier this year, in March 2017, Imad Alarnab, opened a pop- up restaurant, nestled in Columbia Road. Fleeing from Syria like millions of others, he has taken all what the capital can offer him. But more importantly - he has given back.




Previously owning two restaurants and several cafes in Damascus which were unfortunately destroyed by the war, Imad had no choice but to migrate; crossing countries- from Lebanon, Greece, Austria and France, coming to London in 2015.


Appear Here sponsored Imad’s Syrian Kitchen and ran for two weeks in early March. The pop up supported #CookForSYRIA, an initiative and partnership with Unicef which raises money to help to protect Syrian children. For this, the kitchen offered a three course set menu which was authentically Syrian. Plates were mainly sharing platters and consisted of meals like fattoush (a toasted flatbread with tomato, cucumber and pomegranate molasses) or a Sharabik (with aubergine, raspberries, tahini, almonds and pomegranate molasses). The pop-up also offered the Middle Eastern food everyone loves and enjoys, such as falafel, hummus, chicken makmur and tabbouleh. What is better is that all waiters and volunteers were also refugees.

Due to the great response and success from Imad’s Syrian Kitchen pop-up, the restaurant’s Instagram states that he is excited to launch a “permanent restaurant”.


For those who cannot wait until the opening, myself included, there are other places across London to serve authentic Syrian cuisine. Yamal Alsham in Knightsbridge is one of them.

The Syrian restaurant combines exotic ingredients from both the Middle and Far East, which leave the mouth wanting more.



Image by: twitter.com/thestowonline


From the first second I stepped into the Knightsbridge restaurant, I immediately felt as if I was somewhere more exotic than London. And although I would like to say it felt like I was in Syria, I must admit- I have never been. The ambiance was very relaxed and professional; the décor - slick and stylish. Although professional, one must certainly admit it felt homely.

In regards to the menu, I am left deciding between a plethora of dishes. I opt for the hummus, tabbouleh and pickles as my cold menu. Who knew there could be so many varieties of a menu? The menu caters for vegetarians and vegans too, but I am sure cheese is not vegan… especially the cheese sambousek. My companion is a vegan and although I do care for her dietary requirements, I cannot resist ordering it- which comes warm and flaky- just how I like it.

The meals come one by one, empty plates leaving as new, warm ones arrive. And my companion and I. . . we cannot stop eating. Just as when we feel like we might have had enough, the final meal comes along- the moussaka. Delicious and well-cooked aubergine with chickpeas, onion and a tomato sauce enter my mouth. Spooning the plate clean, I am left content. My companion has had to undo their belt. I give them side eyes.


“You’d like the dessert menu; I presume” says the waiter. There is no space in my stomach, but you have guessed right, waiter man. I do not even have to look at the menu to know what I want; “I shall have the baklawa and an Arabic coffee.”

The baklawa arrives and I cannot wait to put my fork to it. It is oozing with sugar syrup and is packed with nuts. The pastry is warm, yet flaky and delicious. The serving looks small to me, however it is just enough, as I think I would probably explode if there was any more.

We pay and leave, thanking the waiter for his service. We get to the train station and only then has my companion realised that her belt is still undone.


Words by: Milica Cosic | Subbing by: Melina Zachariou

25 views0 comments

Back of House 

bottom of page